Two mayors exchanging seats with vice, 3 VMs eye top seats

Two towns in Bohol’s First Congressional District have top leaders  exchanging positions as another three incumbent Vice Mayors gun for the top town seat as the elections in 2016 nears and the campaign period for national officials start Tuesday.

Former Loon Vice Mayor Elvi Peter Relampagos (LP)  switches with then Mayor Lloyd Peter Lopez (LP) who is now running for Vice Mayor while in nearby Calape, former Mayor Sulpicio Yu (LP) slides down to accommodate his brother Vice Mayor Nelson Yu (LP) who is running for mayor in the town.

Three more Vice Mayors are now casting their hats into the Mayoralty seats: Baclayon’s VM Jodel Theodore C. Cabahug (NP), Cortes VM Lynn Iven Lim (LP) and Maribojoc’s Fructuoso Jumamoy (NP).


In Loon, former VM Relampagos meets Ana Liza G. Orcullo (UNA) while in Calape, former VM Yu battles with Delia Dumalag (UNA).

For the vacant vice mayors post, Cabahug’s seat has Romulo Balangkig (NP) and Ma. Judith B. Israel (LP); Cortes VM Lims seat will have former mayors Romeo L. Labor and Leo G Pabotoy as contenders. For the vacant Maribojoc seat left by Jumamoy, former mayor Jose E. Veloso (LP) and Andresa Pohl figts for vote supremacy.

It will be a duel between Cabahug and former mayor Benecio R. Uy in Baclayon, and incumbent vice mayor Lim of Cortes goes against incumbent mayor Roberto Tabaneta, while Maribojoc’s Jumamoy pitches in a three-cornered fight among him and Gumersindo M. Arocha (LP) and Henry B. Cantoneros.

Meanwhile, in the same district which is comprised of 16 towns and Tagbilaran City, 11 incumbent mayors are aiming to get new mandates in a reelection.

These are Alburquerque Mayor Efren D. Tungol (LP), Dauis Mayor Marietta T. Sumaylo (LP), Panglao Leonila P. Montero (PDP Laban), Tagbilaran City John Geesnel L. Yap (LP), Cortes Roberto L. Tabanera (PMP), Corella Jose Nicanor Tocmo (UNA), Sikatuna Jose Ellorimo Jr., (LP), Balilihan Maria Pureza V. Chatto, Catigbian Virgilio Lurot, Tubigon Marlon R. Amila (UNA) and Antequera Jose Mario J, Pahang.

In Alburquerque, Mayor Tungol meets an opposition in Eugenio Salibay (PDP Laban), Mayor Sumaylo of Dauis will tackle with former mayor Victorio Migrino (PDP Laban) as Mayor Montero of Panglao meets Doloreich Dumaluan (PDP Laban).

In Tagbilaran City, Mayor Yap will be against two opponents: Arlene P. Karaan (PMP) and Edgar L. Kapirig (Ind), Cortes incumbent Mayor Tabanera meets vice Mayor Lim and Corellas Mayor Tocmo, will face three opponents: Danilo Mbnadala (LP), Epifanio Bolando (Ind) and Fabio J. Ontong Jr (PDP Laban).

It will be a sure win for Sikatuna’s Ellorimo who run unopposed this time, while Balilihan’s Mayor Chatto has Mark Leo Monton (Ind) while Catigbi-ans Mayor Lurot faces former Vice Mayor Fortunato N. Concon, Antequeras Mayor Pahang grapples with former Mayor Samuel Rebosura (Ind) and Tubigon’s Mayor Amila will face off with former Mayor William R Jao.

On the vice mayoralty seats, Loon’s legislative seat vacated by VM relampagos will have former Mayor Lloyd Peter Lopes contesting against Wilfredo Caresosa (Ind) while Calape’s seat of VM Yu will have his brother former mayor Sulpicio fighting it out with Roldan Damalerio (UNA).

For incumbent Vice mayors intending a reelection, these are Alburquerque Cayetano J. Doria Jr (LP), Dauis Luciano Bongalos (LP), Panglao Pedro Fuertes (LP), Tagbilaran City Jose Antonio Veloso (LP)Sikatuna Julian O. Manigo (LP), Balilihan Edgar S. Asilo (LP), Catigbian Reynaldo M. Lacea (LP), Tubigon Virgilio Fortich (LP) and Antequera Simon Leo Jadulco (LP).

Alburquerque’s Doria is sure winner with no opposition, as Dauis VM Bongalos faces off with Pacifico Branzuela (Ind) and Reynaldo O. Yana (PDP Laban).

In Panglao, VM Fuertes will fight it out with former mayor Benedicto H. Alcala (Ind) and Tagbilaran City VM Veloso will have Alfred Hontanosas (Ind) as opposition, Corella’s substitute for VM Daquio is Rex Romani Tocmo facing off Ma Asuncion Daquio (UNA), Nicanor Lumain (Ind) and Vanessa C. Macarayan (PDP Laban),  as Sikatuna’s VM Manigo has to top against Silverio M. Palgan (UNA).

Running against Balilihan VM Asilo is Adonis Roy I. Olalo (ind), Catigbi-ans VM Lacea will meet former VM Necita Digaum, Tubigon’s VM Fortich squares off with Eveardeen Flores (UNA) while Antequeras VM Jadulco finds opposition in Lanibel M. Labado (PDP Laban). (rac/PIA-7/Bohol)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *