From 64, disqualified Bohol SK officials now at 77

From the previously reported 64, the number of Sangguniang Kabataan (SK) officials elected in the May polls who have been disqualified has risen to 77.

The disqualified SK officials included 14 chairpersons and 63 councilors, based on data from the Bohol Commission on Elections (Comelec).


The Comelec’s head office reportedly revoked the officials’ certificates of candidacy to make them ineligible for holding public office.

According to the same data, 64 were disqualified for being over the age limit of 24, five were below the minimum age of 18 and eight were found to not be registered in the barangays where they ran for office.

The SK officials who were barred from keeping their posts were from 62 barangays in 18 towns.

It was indicated in the same Comelec data that the officials were from the towns of Bien Unido, Bilar, Buenavista, Calape, Candijay, Catigbian, Clarin, Corella, Danao, Dauis, Lila, Pilar, President Carlos P. Garcia, Sierra Bullones, Talibon, Tubigon, Ubay and Valencia.

However, the Comelec did not name the disqualified individuals.

For its part, the Department of Interior and Local Government (DILG) said that it has also yet to obtain the names of the new officials who will replace the disqualified individuals, as they continued to gather data on the new development. (rt)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *