6 Bohol towns under election watchlist areas

Six towns in the province have been declared as election watchlist areas (EWAs) based on the history of election-related incidents.

Buenavista, Clarin, Danao, and Pilar were placed under the “yellow” category while Tubigon and Inabanga were placed under the “orange” category, said Bohol Police Provincial Office director Senior Superintendent Angeles Geñorga, Jr.

Localities under the “yellow” category are  deemed to have had previous election-related incidents and intense political rivalry while those under “orange” category are seen to have had presence of armed groups in the past three years.


Areas that fall under the “red category” are seen to have all factors indicated including armed threats.

Police Regional Office 7 director Chief Supt. Debold Sinas said that police and military presence will be intensified in the 29 election watchlist areas in Central Visayas including the six Bohol towns. 

Of the 23 other areas, seven are in Cebu, 10 in Negros Oriental and six in Siquijor.

These include the cities of Cebu, Mandaue, Lapu-Lapu, and Danao as well as the municipalities of Ronda, San Fernando, and Tuburan.

Except for Tuburan, all EWAs in Cebu were classified as “yellow,” which means that the place had previous election-related incidents and intense political rivalry, said Sinas.

For his part, Geñorga said that the Armed Forces of the Philippines, Philippine National Police and Commission on Elections will use the EWA as guide on the deployment of additional security forces to an area.

The said agencies and other concerned groups have started coordination to help secure the midterm polls in May next year.

The election gun ban meanwhile is set to be implemented on January 13, 2019, added Geñorga.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *