Mayors joining Che out from ruling party

Topic |  

Mayors joining Che out from ruling party

Topic |  

The third congressional district is expected to have complicated political developments as mayors joining the camp of congressional aspirant, former Carmen Mayor Cheche Toribio de los Reyes will not be given their Certificate of Candidacies under the Liberal Party (LP) as the filing of COCs commence tomorrow up to Friday at the Commission on Election.

Gov. Edgar Chatto, the ruling administration party provincial chair, announced that the national leaders affirmed the local coalition of Liberal Party and the Nationalist People’s Coalition (NPC).
On this, LP will field no candidate in areas where NPC provincial chair, Third District Rep. Arthur Yap, has a line up.

Expected to be unopposed, Chatto rakes all the support from mayors and incumbent officials seeking reelection and new comers in the ruling party ticket.

Rep. Rene Relampagos (LP), like Chatto is also expected to have a smooth victory in mext year’s election while Rep. Aris Aumentado who is not a member of the ruling party is likewise expected to have smooth sailing campaign for his re-election bid next year.
The tough battle is in the third district wherein Yap is being challenged by the defeated gubernatorial aspirant in 2013, former Carmen Delos Reyes.


Delos Reyes tries her luck this time in a district-wide fight after being defeated by Chatto in the province-wide bout in the 2013 polls.

She failed to get accepted in the LP and is left with no other option but to run as independent candidate.

Of the 19 mayors of third district, 10 stick with Yap, while Delos Reyes managed to convince nine.

Staunch allies of Yap include Lila Mayor Regina Salazar, Valencia Mayor Ma. Katrina Lim, Duero Mayor Connie Amparo, Anda Mayor Metodio Amper, Bilar Mayor Norman Palacio, Candijay Mayor Christopher Tutor, Alicia Mayor Marnilou Ayuban, Sevilla Mayor Ernesita Digal, Mabini Mayor Esther Tabigue, and Jagna Mayor Fortunato Abrenilla.

Delos Reyes has Loay Mayor Rosemarie Imboy sa Loay, Loboc Mayor Helen Alaba, Dimiao Mayor Danny Guivencan, Garcia-Hernandez Mayor Tita Gallentes, Guindulman Mayor Ma. Fe Piezas, Batuan Mayor Francisco Pepito, Pilar Mayor Necitas Cubrado, Sierra-Bullones Mayor Dodie Maestrado, and Carmen Mayor Ricardo Francisco Toribio Jr.

Five towns whose incumbent mayors are supporting de los Reyes will be challenged in the 2016 polls by their incumbent vice mayors, namely, Cubrado against Vice-Mayor Wilson Pajo in Pilar, Maestrado against Vice-Mayor Alfredo Gamalo in Sierra-Bullones, Pepito against Councilor Antonio Jumawid in Batuan, Gallentes against former mayor Miguelito Galendez in Garcia-Hernandez, Toribio against Vice Mayor Pedro Budiongan


Piezas, a last-termer will slide down to vice mayor’s position in Guindulman, and fields her half-sister, Marivic Golosino against Elpidio Bonita.


Imboy will be fielding her daughter, Richelle Brigitte, against Councilor Jescelo Adiong in Loay.

Three term Loboc Vice Mayor Artemio Delffin will run against Mayor Calipusan while Dimiao Mayor Danilo Guivancencan  will be challenged by Vice Mayor Jaime Baldon.

Meanwhile, other incumbent mayors are already having the initial names on who will be running against them in next year’s election:  Anda Mayor Amper against Angelina Simario; Duero Mayor Conrada Amparo against Ronald Felisilda; Jagna Mayor Fortunato Abrenilla against Joseph Ranola; Mabini Mayor Esther Tabique against Juanito Jayoma; Sierra Bullones Mayor Maestrado against Alfrtedo Gamalo.


Reports indicate that until last Saturday no opponents have so far come up for Valencia Mayor Lim, Alicia Mayor Ayuban and Bilar Mayor Palacio.

The nine mayors who joined delos Reyes’ camp were said to be among the first to be given substantial initial campaign fund as reports revealed that they given “signing bonuses” of P1 million each.



Rep. Rene Relampagagos is reported to have a  first timer political upstart  to challenge him.

No opponents have so far surfaced until last Saturday against the mayors of at least four towns, namely Antequera Mayor Mario Pahang, Sikatuna Mayor Joe Ellorimo, Jr, Catigbian Mayor Virgilio Lurot while Engr, Nelson Yu, brother of last termer Mayor Junnie Yu might run unopposed.

Reports claiming that former Bohol Vice Gov. Julius Herrera will run for mayor of Calape was denied yesterday.

Expected to have a one-on-one mayoralty battle once the aspirants will file their certificates of candidacies are: Alburquerque, Mayor Efren Tungol against former Mayor Jose Ugdoracion; Baclayon, Vice Mayor Theodore Cabahug against former Mayor Benny Uy; Balilihan, Mayor Pureza Veloso against Mark Monton; Cortes, Vice Mayor Iven Lim against former Mayor Tata Labor; Dauis, Mayor Miriam Sumaylo against Victorio Migrino; Loon, Vice Mayor Elvie Relampagos against former Mayor Fred Caresosa; Maribojoc, Vice Mayor Redulla against Engr Ben Redulla; Panglao Mayor Leonila Montero against former Mayor Doloriech Dumaluan; Tuibigon, Mayor Marlon Amila against former Mayor William Jao.


Former Rep. Robrto Cajes emerged last week to post hid bid to run against Rep. Aris Aumentado.  Board member Jerry Garcia who was monitored to be visiting the 14 towns in the district is reportedly not pushing his congressional ambition.

Mayors of four towns do not seem to have opponent. They are Buenavista Mayor Tirol, Clarin Mauyor Ray Piezas, Inabanga Mayor Josephine Jumamoy and Getafe Mayor Cary Shawn Camacho.

A one-on-one mayoralty race is expected in other towns, namely Ubay Mayor Galicano Atup against Constantino Reyes; Trinidad Mayor Judith Cajes against Andy Garcia; Talibon Mayor Restituto Auxtero against Epifanio Quimzon; San isidro Mayor Jacinto Naraga against Doxson Asoy; Sagabayan Mayor Ricardo Suarez against Jimmy Torrefranca; Danao Mayor Natividad Gonzaga against Board Member Romulo Cepedoza; Bien Unido is the wife of Mayor Nino Rey Boniel against Joselyn Villaras.

Be First to Comment

Leave a Reply