Today is 164th Bohol Day

Topic |  

Today is 164th Bohol Day

Topic |  

The Bohol National Museum Bohol is open on Tuesdays to Sundays starting July 22, Bohol Day.

The 164th Bohol Day celebrates the legacy of Public Service to the beloved province. Today’s line up of activities begin with a Holy Mass at 7:30 am at the St. Joseph’s Cathedral.

Five outstanding Boholanos are conferred the Governor’s Award namely: Engr. Albert Uy for Business; Teofredo Araneta for Public Service through Boradcasting; Rev. Fr. Florante Camacho, SVD for Social Development; Maxelende Ganade for Music; and Julius Tongco for Visual Arts.

Uy’s achievements and contributions business and community development have led to the economic and enterprise advancement for the province as well as the creation of employment opportunities for Boholanos.

Araneta, a broadcast icon of Bohol has transformed local broadcast journalism into an instrument for public service.


Fr. Flor to many, Camacho, a priest, an educator, church builder, school builder, leader of civil society organizations, is serving the people in various capacities to church, academe, and non-government institutions for decades now.  A Boholano through and through, he epitomizes the individual who works hard, not for his own interests, but for the community.

Ganade,  musician, lyricist, and composer, translated in Visayan the original English lyrics of the “BOHOL HYMN” written by Justino Romea of Loon. 

Tongco is a mouth painter from Antequera. His various paintings feature Bohol landscape, heritage, tourism sites, and sceneries are sold to various individuals here and abroad.  He is currently a grantee of a Scholarship Award from the Association of Mouth and Foot Painting Artists of the World. 

The commemorative program also highlights program launchings. Postmaster General and CEO of the Philippine Postal Corporation Joel Otarra leads the presentation of the Heritage Stamps Exhibition of the Philippine Postal Corporation.

Tigum Bol-anon, Tibuok Kalibutan led by 2015 president Neil Bonje and 2018 president David Fabiosa turn over the project to League of Municipalities of the Philippines-Bohol chapter.

Gov. Edgar Chatto is set to deliver his commemorative message while Cong. Rene Relampagos introduces guest of honor and speaker Davao City 1st District Cong. Karlo Nograles.

Nograles is serving his third term in Congress and currently chairs the House Committee on Appropriations. Under his chairmanship, the Committee on Appropriations not only passed the 2017 and 2018 National Budgets in record time but also ensured funding for the Free Higher Education Law. His leadership in the committee also paved the way for the salary increase of soldiers and policemen. He is also instrumental in providing free irrigation for farmers and promoting the establishment of the Coconut Farmers and Industry Development Trust Fund.

The program will close with a finale from the Community Development Program-Purok Power Movement which celebrates its 7th anniversary.


In the afternoon, the National Museum (formerly Provincial Capitol) opens to the public. Four years and nine months after the 7.2 magnitude earthquake in 2013, the 1855 stone structure is restored to its 1860 grandeur for adaptive re-use for the National Museum branch in Tagbilaran City.

The Abueva collection, works of Bohol-born National Artist for Sculpture Napoleon Abueva, is currently housed in the museum, highlighting the exhibit “Pagpauli”.

Dedicated to the memory of the great artist Abueva, in partnership with the Abueva family, Pagpauli features 26 significant works from his personal collection from his households in Duero and Quezon City. This is his first major exhibition in his home province, Bohol.

“Pagbanhaw” tells the story of Bohol’s churches and the restoration works done.

In one of the galleries, Tigum Bol-anon Tibook Kalibutan (TBTK)’s “The Outstanding Boholanos Around the World (TOBAW)” awardees will also be featured.

The Philippine Postal Corporation (PhlPost) on the other hand, will have “Mga Selyong Pamana Stamp Exhibit” at the Governor’s Gallery featuring the newest stamps released on the Philippine’s 20 Heritage Churches, Dauis Church included.


In the evening, ten Boholanos will be honored at the TOBAW Awards. A triennial event, TOBAW distinguishes Boholanos, by blood or heart, who have distinguished themselves at the forefront of their chosen field of endeavors and significantly contributed to the well-being of the Boholano community and the nation through philanthropic efforts and/or volunteerism.

This year’s awardees include Michael Luke Mejares (Performing Arts); Ed Escalona (Business and Entrepreneurship); Francisca Baluyot (Community Advocacy-Medicine); Rev. Fr. Florante Camacho, SVD (Education); Engr. Valentino Pueblos (Engineering); Teresa Salazar (Literature); RADM Margarito Sanchez, Jr. (Military/Protective Service); Cong. Rene Relampagos (Public Service-Local); Cabinet Secretary Leoncio Evasco (Public Service-National); and Dr. Rene Rollon (Science).

Bohol became a separate politico-military province from Cebu on July 22, 1854. (EDCOM)

Be First to Comment

Leave a Reply